Relying On God



‘The LORD is my rock and my fortress and my deliverer; My God, my strength, in whom I will trust; My shield and the horn of my salvation, my stronghold.’ ~ Psalm 18:2

The patriarch Abraham is surely a role-model worth imitating. We can learn so much from him to deepen and strengthen our faith. At a time when the ends of the earth were yet to be known and nomadic warrior tribes fought bitterly to conquer the world, establishing new empires, Abraham set out into the unknown with his flocks and herds, a handful of servants and the promise of God etched deep within his heart. This was probably something unheard of at that time. For one could run into the danger of being completely wiped out by invading armies. But he took the risk, cutting way from the secure familiar setting of his home.

Did Abraham ever tussle with questions that bombarded his mind? ‘How am I gonna make it through the vast expanse of the wilderness? Will we survive this? What will the future be like? Where will we settle down? What kind of a place will it be? Will we have peace and quite there? How do I manage my resources? If I meet an emergency situation what do I do? I have left my home far away and I can’t go back…….will my resources last a long time?

Its interesting to note key actions of Abraham found in Genesis chapters fourteen and fifteen. When Melchizedek brought out bread and wine and blessed Abraham, he gave him a tenth of everything. He did not worry about depleting his resources. After defeating the kings who captured Sodom and Gomorrah including his nephew Lot, and was asked by king of Sodom to give the people and keep the goods, Abraham responded, “I have raised my hand to the LORD, God Most High, the Possessor of heaven and earth,  that I will take nothing, from a thread to a sandal strap, and that I will not take anything that is yours, lest you should say, ‘I have made Abram rich’—   except only what the young men have eaten, and the portion of the men who went with me: Aner, Eshcol, and Mamre; let them take their portion”

Who taught Abraham to respond this way? From where did he learn these principles of life? We can only be awed by the remarkable faith he had to commune with the Living God in such a way – make a oath to never rely on human strength or wisdom inorder to secure his position or aquire wealth, status or reputation. Rather he completely relied on God, believing that he who called is faithful and will do it. Amazing! Lets aspire to walk in his footsteps of faith.

Prayer – “Dear Heavenly Father, thank you for opening my eyes to the truth that living my life is not about acquiring wealth, status, reputation or security but relying on your promises. Lord, deepen my faith in you and help me live life your way. Amen.”

Be a blessing to others and eternally transform lives by supporting CBN INDIA’s Ministry. Partner with us to reach millions of Indians to share the love of Christ and a message of hope to the needy ones by making an on-line donation today.

3 thoughts on “Relying On God

  1. Pingback: Close Encounters of the God Kind, Part 2 « Bedouin Fire

  2. Pingback: Close Encounters of the God Kind, Part 3 « Bedouin Fire

  3. Pingback: Close Encounters of the God Kind, Part 2 « Bedouin Fire

Leave a Reply

