God Is There All the Time


‘The LORD himself goes before you and will be with you; he will never leave you nor forsake you. Do not be afraid; do not be discouraged.’ ~ Deuteronomy 31:8

Jacob was in a gloomy state for over a decade thinking that his favourite son, Joseph was dead. We don’t hear his communication with God during this time. His hopeless state is evident in his remark  to his sons when they ask for Benjamin to go along with them back to Egypt. He says, “My son will not go down there with you; his brother is dead and he is the only one left. If harm comes to him on the journey you are taking, you will bring my gray head down to the grave in sorrow.”  But he finally conceded to their request and let Benjamin go down to Egypt.

After this, Joseph made himself known to his brothers and sent word to bring his father Jacob and all their family members and possessions and to settle down in Goshen. So he sent wagons with the best of the land as gifts.  And when Jacob saw the wagons sent by Joseph, his spirit revived, He exclaimed, ‘“I’m convinced! My son Joseph is still alive. I will go and see him before I die.” When he arrived at Beerheba, he offered sacrifices to the God of his father Isaac. And then after a long time, we read of that sweet communion between God and Jacob. Genesis 46 records – And God spoke to Israel in a vision at night and said, “Jacob! Jacob!” “Here I am,” he replied. “I am God, the God of your father,” he said. “Do not be afraid to go down to Egypt, for I will make you into a great nation there.  I will go down to Egypt with you, and I will surely bring you back again. And Joseph’s own hand will close your eyes.”

There are times when we cannot sense an evident presence of God in our lives. We can get easily depressed and confused and grow anxiously worried if something is the matter. But the truth is that God is there in our lives, unless we have sinned against God and caused a breech in our fellowship with him. Our feelings don’t determine the presence or absence of God in our life. He is there nevertheless. He promises to never leave us nor forsake us.

Prayer – “Dear Heavenly Father, I worship you for no matter how I feel, or the situation in my life, You are true and faithful. You are there in my life. Thank you that I can turn to you, for you are my friend. Thank you for watching over me. Amen.”

Be a blessing to others and eternally transform lives by supporting CBN INDIA’s Ministry. Partner with us to reach millions of Indians to share the love of Christ and a message of hope to the needy ones by making an on-line donation today.

One thought on “God Is There All the Time

  1. Pingback: The Gift of Presence | I Sing for God

Leave a Reply

