At Home


 “In my Father’s house are many rooms; if it were not so, I would have told you.” ~ John 14:2

After a long hectic travel, a well prepared room to lodge or rest in is such a blessing. Neat and tidy sheets, a thoughtfully placed note book to scribble thoughts, a lampshade whose gentle glow spreads warmth, an easy chair that beckons you to just take off your shoes and nestle into its comfort, framed paintings of flora and fauna to capture the imagination and a small little vase holding out a bunch of freshly plucked flowers from the garden to add delight – all these mean so much. Your arrival was expected. Every detail was carefully planned with thoughtfulness and loving care so that you can have a good time. Anyone would feel so relaxed and comforted to be in such a place. On the other hand, an untidy and disorganized place creates irritation and discomfort.  

In John chapter fourteen, Jesus comforts his disciples with these words – “Do not let your hearts be troubled. Trust in God; trust also in me. In my Father’s house are many rooms; if it were not so, I would have told you. I am going there to prepare a place for you. And if I go and prepare a place for you, I will come back and take you to be with me that you also may be where I am.” The disciples had come a long way with Jesus, not just going by foot following him wherever he went preaching the good news, but they had taken leaps of faith – leaving behind a thriving business, forsaking the comforts of a home, denying themselves the joys of family life, facing uncertainty of the future and carry a mandate that can be done only with God’s help.  

Jesus still comforts his disciples – you and me. We are the apple of God’s eye. Each of us is precious to Him. That’s why He desires that we must be with Him for all eternity. And so, all preparations are underway. After the earthly journey, a heavenly abode awaits us. What a consolation! God is expecting us to be home! That’s where we belong!

Prayer – “Dear Heavenly Father, I’m so blessed to know that you are preparing a place for me so that I can be with You always. Your love is so marvelous to me. Thank you Lord.” Amen.

Be a blessing to others and eternally transform lives by supporting CBN INDIA’s Ministry. Partner with us to reach millions of Indians to share the love of Christ and a message of hope to the needy ones by making an on-line donation today.

 

Leave a Reply

