God Remembers



‘I will remember my covenant between me and you …’ ~ Genesis 9:15

Fleeing from his brother Esau, Jacob hurried to get out of Beersheba and head towards Paddan Aram, the home of his maternal uncle, Laban. En route at Bethel, he had a dream in which God reassured him of his presence. Jacob set up the pillar on which his head rested, anointed it with oil and made a vow saying, “ If God will be with me and will watch over me on this journey I am taking and will give me food to eat and clothes to wear so that I return safely to my father’s household, then the LORD will be my God and this stone that I have set up as a pillar will be God’s house, and of all that you give me I will give you a tenth.”

Twenty years passed in servitude to Laban. Jacob endured the heat of the daytime and the cold at night. His wages was changed ten times. He went through much distress. Buit the time came for his departure from Laban. So he prepared his journey back to Canaan. En route he met his brother Esau. Jacob was terrified with fear that his brother would take revenge. But nothing of what he imagined happened. God saw him through this too. God sustained him through the heat and cold. He had food to eat and clothes to wear. And his life was spared from the ire of his brother. He arrived safely at the city of Shechem. After purchasing the plot of ground where he pitched his tent, Jacob set up an altar and called it El Elohe Israel. For God had answered his prayer. He kept him alive and safe those twenty years. Through time and season God was faithful.

The God of Abraham, Isaac and Jacob is our God too. He remembers the covenant made, the promises given and even the prayers and vows uttered by us. We may forget but God doesn’t. He is absolutely faithful and will keep his word. May we learn to be thankful to God for being so and do something to express our thanks to him.

Prayer – “Dear Heavenly Father, thank you for your grace in my life. Thank you for being faithful to keep your covenant and fulfill your promises to me. Help me live by trusting you and relying on you. Amen.”

 

 

Be a blessing to others and eternally transform lives by supporting CBN INDIA’s Ministry. Partner with us to reach millions of Indians to share the love of Christ and a message of hope to the needy ones by making an on-line donation today.


Leave a Reply

