Handcrafted


Handcrafted

When I was woven together in the depths of the earth, your eyes saw my unformed body” ~ Psalm 139:15-16

Handcrafted

Handcrafted

Named after the town Ilkal, in Bagalkot district of Karnataka state, the famous Ilkal sarees come in varied colours and designs. Some having a combination of cotton and silk, come with rectangles, squares and stripes weaved onto them. In addition, a unique form of embroidery, called Kasuti, that has traditional patterns like palanquins, elephants and lotuses are embroidered onto these sarees, making them unique.

But these sarees don’t come the easy way. Hand woven by skilled weavers, the bare threads are skillfully transformed into beautiful sarees over a period of two-to-three days with  at least four to five members of the family joining in to weave a single saree. So much of labour and synchronized moves between the loom and hands go into their making.

How much more is God involved in the creation of you and me? Genesis 1:26 says, ‘Then God said, “Let us make man in our image, in our likeness…’ King David, Israel’s sweet singer, knew this amazing truth and exclaimed in the Psalm 139 – ‘For you created my inmost being; you knit me together in my mother’s womb. I praise you because I am fearfully and wonderfully made; your works are wonderful, I know that full well. My frame was not hidden from you when I was made in the secret place. When I was woven together in the depths of the earth, your eyes saw my unformed body.’

Yes. God was involved in the making of each one of us. The Trinity – God the Father, The Son, and the Holy Spirit worked together as a team to form us. We bear the name of our Heavenly Father, with his seal of workmanship sealed into our hearts by the Holy Spirit through the person of Jesus Christ who revealed God’s love to us.

Prayer – “Dear Heavenly Father, I’m so amazed to know that the Trinity Godhead was involved in creating me; that you formed me out of foresight and not as an after thought. Truly Lord, my life has its meaning in you. “Amen.

Leave a Reply

