The grill


The grill


“The Lord is my rock, my fortress and my deliverer; my God is my rock, in whom I take refuge. He is my shield and the horn of my salvation, my stronghold.” ~ Psalm 18:2

The violet flowers looked so beautiful against the blue sky. The bunches almost lilted to the wind as butterflies flitted here and there. The tender plant had now grown into a young tree with its branches spreading far and wide, forming a natural roof across the grill. The plant being weak and feeble by nature needed some source of sustenance, something steady, firm, and unmovable with whose support it could climb up higher and grow. The grill was vital for the growth of the plant. The plant is exposed to heavy downpour, gushes of wind, the scorching heat of the sun and dust. It cannot hide away from these things. It has to fight it out and keep growing. So it just clings to the grill, infact it intertwines itself with the grill to be safe and not get completely destroyed.

Like that plant our lives are open to problems, crisis, difficulties, hardships and setbacks. We cannot keep them at bay all the time neither can we hide away from them. We all look for that one something that can sustain us, which we can count on, which is steadfast, reliable, dependable and true. All we need is a support with whose help we could get past them, and keep moving on, beating the heat and storms of life.

Just as the plant cannot survive on its own and needs the help of the grill, we too are dependent on God. We cannot do without God’s help. The Bible testifies to God’s unchanging nature. God is steadfast, reliable, true and ever present in the midst of troubles. He does not change like shifting shadows. So no matter what we encounter in life, we have God with us, whose support we can really count on to help us. So let’s acknowledge our dependence on God and take help from Him.

You lose nothing when you depend on God

Prayer

“Dear Jesus, I thank you for being there for me. I acknowledge my dependence on You. You alone are my support. Help me lean on You. Amen.”

Leave a Reply

