My tears


My tears

“My tears have been my food day and night…..” ~ Psalm 42:3

Tears are powerful in communicating what we cannot say otherwise. Silently the tears flow, when the heart is overwhelmed. Staring into the space….into the ceiling…and as thoughts drift across the mind, the heart goes through that moment again, reliving it, causing tears to flow. In the dark, when everyone is asleep, can anyone know what’s going inside, what causes those tears to flow out?

God knows. He knows every sigh, every tear, every single one of them. The flow down on the face and are wiped away. But they are not forgotten by God. David says in Psalm 56:8, ‘Record my lament; list my tears on your scroll are they not in your record?’ another version reads as, ‘put thou my tears into thy bottle: are they not in thy book?’ David was going through a rough time. He was being hated by his own son who was trying to kill him. Fleeing from this danger, he hides himself in a cave and writes this prayer to God. David knew that no matter what happens, God would be there. He had tasted of God’s love and come to know that God is faithful and good. And that He cares for David in a personal intimate way, so close that He even understood how David felt when only tears could be expressed.

Yes. God’s got a book and it’s all written down….the sighs and tears; they are records kept for them. It’s all stored up in a bottle as it were. In 2 Kings 20:5 God says, ‘I have heard thy prayer; I have seen thy tears’. God not only knows but even sees our tears. Nothing is hidden from his sight.  Others may not know. But God does.

Prayer

“Dear Jesus, I come to You. I’m so blessed to know that You care so much for me that You even know and see my tears. There is none like You. Amen.”

Leave a Reply

